Welcome to the blog that barely gets updated!

My Experiences with w3spaces - 22/9/23

My site had been hosted on W3spaces for a total of 2 years, which I think is a pretty good run for a small lightweight personal website. I do have a few complaints about it, though.

When I first found out about W3spaces, that gave me inspiration to make my own little site where I can create whatever I wanted in HTML. And that's how the miiarcus (formerly called iMarcus) website started. I posted my site everywhere, telling friends and even family members to check it out. As I kept sharing it with people, I got an email from W3Schools themselves, stating that I was running out of quota.

I never knew that the site had a very, VERY low maximum requests amount. 500 to be exact. This isn't all that great, because if all of my requests are full, then the site will have to be closed until my free membership refreshes. If I signed up at the end of the month and it takes three weeks for my quota to fill, then site visitors will have to wait an entire week for the quota to be reset. This happened... several times.

Instead of worrying about quota, I also had to deal with the amount of files I had on my site. I used to have a lot more "ad badges" on my homepage but thanks to the file limit I was limited to only having 4 badges. It also meant that I couldn't put any other pages on my site. These blog posts you're reading right now weren't possible on W3spaces.

But then, On this very Friday after 2 years of staying with W3spaces, I decided that it was time to switch to Neocities. Thanks to Neocities, I don't have to deal with my quota running out every few months, AND I don't have to worry about the file limit.

Thanks for reading!